FAQFAQ     SearchSearch   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    

Sircastle
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    wug.za.net Forum Index -> Jawug
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RoC



Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:02 pm    Post subject: Sircastle Reply with quote

What happened to the Sircastle HS? I'm in Wilro Park and it seems as if this HS are no longer available. I might have a problem linking to the other one (WP) near me.
Are there anybody that might be able to test for a link in my area?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pyro



Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can see SC2 from my place, though I'm only currently getting 8 dBi SNR. I just hastily mounted it on the roof, still need to align it.

It's running 5.8GHz, if that makes a difference to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoC



Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx Pyro, Will run a test shortly to see if I can get a link
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bkasselman



Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I'm moving house soon and i suspect that i have now los to SC, what kit is on SC, i remeber there was talk some time ago that SC will be upgraded to 5.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
HappyChap



Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup

SC is 5.8GHz 360Degrees
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
bkasselman



Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sold my KIT to a collegue some time ago - he was desperate to get a kit... my kit was 2.4 anyway... any chances that someone can help with a 5.8 test kit towards December ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
catilre



Joined: 18 Feb 2009
Posts: 19
Location: Roodepoort

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you havent plotted your new location? plot it and check if you have LOS... if not find a new place to move to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
bkasselman



Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catilre

you sound very funny... i am merely asking for assistance in confirmation of LOS, i know there is LOS, i dont want to make the same mistakes again and want to make sure that i get the right KIT to connect directly to the HS or alternatively aproach another user in the area to be a transit node, even if i had to cover a portion of the the costs for that.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Toby



Joined: 20 Apr 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 5:21 pm    Post subject: Sircastle Reply with quote

I have been on the Wug for Some time, but have not been active due to work committments. Does anyone know what has happened to SC. A Scan from my 5.8 Kit picks up no SC Sectors or Backbone links.

I know there was issues with power before.

bkasselman, When SC up again, you are welcome to connect via me if it helps. However, note I am only 1km away form SC, but you never know
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xarion
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jan 2007
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey toby, its strange you dont pick up anything, have you selected the correct country in your settings? SC is fully 5.8 ghz now,no 2.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
F4ckn



Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Randpark EXT5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When did you try and scan toby? SC has been down for a day or 2 now,

F4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
bkasselman



Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

toby, what is your location name on Google Earth ?,
need to check LOS,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
bkasselman



Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone inform me if "unavenged" and "DJACOBS" according to G.E is active nodes, i checked LOS on the LOS Calculator and they seem to be my best options to be transit nodes...

If so... if someone see them on IRC ask them to please get in contact with me via PM or e-mail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Toby



Joined: 20 Apr 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:07 am    Post subject: Sircastle Issues and connectivity Reply with quote

Xarion - I have been on 5.8 with a RB433 for about two months now. The KML has not been updated and still shows me on a 2.4 link to Atti2de

F4ckn - I last scanned yesterday Saturday 3rd October. I am available to help if work needed, or contribute to funding to get SC up again. Am trying to contact Atti2de.

bkasselman - I am registered on the WUG and the KML file as Toby. The kml may still have me as a 2.4 User, but note that I am on 5.8 with a RB433 Wug Kit. Adding a Second link on my kit will not be an issue, and am willing to contribute to costs if it helps someone else to connect. I will not forget the initial help I got from Atti2de and Xarion (They put up a seperate 2.4 kit for me to connect to when SC Converted to 5.Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bkasselman



Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Toby, I don't see you on the kml, please see if we have LOS "catscratch" and "catscratch new",
You can mail me the results, bkasselman@vodamail.co.za

Xarion : I have 3 X mobo's, cpu, ram available for sites that need upgrading - let me know if you need anything,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    wug.za.net Forum Index -> Jawug All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum